RFD-TV to Re-Air Cody Stampede Rodeo

RFD-TV to Re-Air Cody Stampede Rodeo

Jake Wright's winning ride on Frontier Rodeo's "Short Stop" at the 97th Cody Stampede Rodeo. Jake Wright's winning ride on Frontier Rodeo's "Short Stop" at the 97th Cody Stampede Rodeo.

Western sports fans can catch all the highlights from the 97th Cody Stampede Rodeo this Wednesday (August 31st) at 8:30 p.m. EST. Held during last month's Independence Day weekend, viewers can tune-in to watch over 800 cowboys and cowgirls who competed for a purse worth $400,000 at the world's richest "One-Round" rodeo.

The 2016 event was dominated by four-time NFR qualifier and saddle bronc rider, Jake Wright, who won the event with an 88-point ride. At the time, Wright was currently 5th in the world standings. He rode Frontier Rodeo’s horse "Short Stop" and added $8,686 to his season earnings. But Jake Wright wasn’t the only Wright to take home points and prize money. His older brother Cody, who has two world titles and 12 NFR qualifications to his credit, was just a half-point behind him. And in a tie for third? Jake’s twin brother, Jesse Wright, and Cody’s oldest son, Rusty Wright who each had 86 point rides to win $4,053. Altogether, the Wright boys took home a total of $23,451 in winnings.

A world champion horse also took center stage during the event. The “Bareback Horse of the Year" in 2011 and 2013 and 2015's “Reserve Champion of the Year” horse, “Full Baggage,” competed at the event with rider Joel Schlegel from Burns, CO. Upon learning this information Schlegel said he didn’t know, “whether to be scared, excited or just nervous. But I knew if I did my job and stayed on, I could collect a bunch of points.” And win he did. Schlegel earned the biggest win of his career to date with 87 points and $10,540,

2016 Cody Stampede champions include the following final results:

Bareback Riding:          Joel Schlegel, Burns, Colo., $10,540

Steer Wrestling:            Clayton Hass, Terrell, Texas, $9,091

Team Roping:               Luke Brown, Stephenville, Texas (header)

                                     Jake Long, Coffeyville, Kan., (heeler) $9,426 each

Saddle Bronc Riding:   Jake Wright, Milford, Utah, $8,686

Tie-Down Roping:         Clint Nyegaard, Cuero, Texas, $9,912

Barrel Racing:               Taylor Jacob, Carmine, Texas, $10,583

Bull Riding:                   Cody Rostockyj, Lorena, Texas, $8,705

Watch the 97th Cody Stampede Rodeo, held during the July 4th weekend in Cody Wyoming, Wednesday, August 17th at 8:30 p.m. EST (7:30 p.m. CST, 6:30 p.m. MST, 5:30 p.m. PST). on RFD-TV. To get the results from the fourth performance, fans can click here. For more information about the 97th Cody Stampede Rodeo, visit codystampederodeo.com.

Get the full schedule at rfdtv.com.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Frankly and RFDTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service , and Ad Choices .