Carrying On New Year's Family Traditions

Carrying On New Year's Family Traditions

Posted: Updated:
A silo and tractor are part of the Ag PhD float. A silo and tractor are part of the Ag PhD float.

Ringing in the New Year is a time for traditions to carry on and others to be made. One tradition that RFD-TV is carrying on includes broadcasting The Tournament of Roses Parade from Pasadena, California. A parade that is America’s New Year Celebration, a greeting to the world on the first day of the year, and a salute to the community spirit and love of pageantry that has thrived for more than 100 years.

The 2018 parade theme is “Making a Difference” and focuses on honoring all the people in our communities who quietly and without desire for reward or recognition, act in selfless, generous and kind ways to aid or benefit others. Ag PhD said, “Who makes more of a difference than farmers? Without farmers and the food supply farmers produce, none of us would be here. Farmers work tirelessly to feed our growing world, and they do a fantastic job. In the United States, for example, we have the healthiest, most abundant, safest, and cheapest food supply in the world, and that’s all thanks to farmers!”

Ag PhD will have a camera on their float so we have the unique perspective of being in the parade and riding along with America’s unsung heroes. Not only will there be flowers (a parade requirement and what sets The Rose Parade apart from many others) Ag PhD has made it their mission to receive seeds from all 50 states that are incorporated into the design. Ag PhD will be the first to include 100 farm and ranch families as riders in the parade. RFD-TV has closely followed the build of the float and are excited to help Ag PhD reconnect city and country.  

As the time gets closer, Brian Hefty shared with RFD-TV his excitement and amazement at the outstanding support of the agricultural industry and their outpouring of love and help. Volunteers will swarm the float to place the flowers and seeds in Pasadena. Hefty also shared his thoughts on how important showcasing agriculture and Ag PhD’s goals for the float,  

One of the biggest challenges in agriculture in today’s society is the disconnection between those of us who produce food and the other 99% of our population. We are hoping this float and the resulting media coverage will, at least in a small way, help non-farmers learn more about what we do on the farm.

Gather your family and friends in the living room to enjoy some quality time as you watch the Tournament of Roses Parade on RFD-TV. Don’t miss a minute of the action as hosts, Pam Minick and Christina Loren take you through the parade and talk about the unique agricultural aspects that take place in this parade. RFD-TV, The Cowboy Channel and Rural Radio 147 are committed to showing every single float, with unmatched coverage and limited commercial interruptions. All the fun starts at 10:30 AM ET | 9:30 AM CT | 8:30 AM MT | 7:30 AM PT, with The Rose Parade Pre-Show leading right into the parade itself, starting at 11 AM ET. Have other favorites you love to watch, but don’t want to miss The Rose Parade? Catch an encore presentation of the Pre-Show and parade on RFD-TV and The Cowboy Channel starting at 1 PM ET | 12 PM CT | 11 AM MT | 10 AM PT.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 Frankly and RFDTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service , and Ad Choices .