Triple Crown Winner

Triple Crown Winner

February 29, 2016

Wade Sundell, 31, of Boxholm, Iowa, earned $1.1 million after an eight-second rodeo ride Sunday afternoon at AT&T Stadium during RFD-TV’s The American, presented by Polaris Ranger.

The nationally televised rodeo annually invites the 10 best professional athletes in the world to compete for a $1 million purse, but the format also allows a handful of athletes to pay a fee to attempt to qualify throughout the season. A million-dollar bonus was reserved for any qualifier who could beat the best in the world on Feb. 28.

But Sundell, the 2015 reserve world champion saddle bronc rider, was also eligible for the bonus this year – if he could win his event for a remarkable third straight year as the “Triple Crown” champion. None of the qualifiers could unseat the elite athletes, and Sundell took home the entire bonus after a 90-point ride on a bronc named Maple Leaf.

“I think I was born for this place,” said Sundell, who also won $100,000 at RFD-TV’s The American in AT&T Stadium in 2014 and again in 2015. “Hello Dallas!”

His paycheck of $1.1 million on Sunday comes close to the $1.4 million it has taken him nine years of professional bronc riding to earn in his career.

Following are results from RFD-TV’s The American, presented by Polaris RANGER, on Feb. 28:

Bareback Riding: 1. Tanner Aus, Granite Falls, Minn., 88.50 points on Frontier’s Showstomper, $100,000; 2. Kaycee Field, Spanish Fork, Utah, 88.25, $25,000.

Team Roping: 1. Derrick Begay, Seba Dalkai, Ariz./Clay O’Brien Cooper, Gardnerville, Nev., 4.56 seconds, $100,000; 2. David Key, Stephenville, Texas/Dugan Kelly, Paso Robles, Calif., 4.94, $25,000.

Steer Wrestling: 1. Ty Erickson, Helena, Mont., 4.80 seconds, $100,000; 2. Cody Cassidy, Donalda, Alberta, 7.75, $25,000.

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1. Wade Sundell, Boxholm, Iowa, 90.75 points, Frontier’s Maple Leaf, $100,000 plus $1,000,000 bonus; 2. Jake Wright, Milford, Utah, 87.75, $25,000.

Tie Down Roping: 1. Hunter Herrin, Apache, Okla., 6.77 seconds, $100,000; 2. Tyson Durfey, Savannah, Mo., 6.86 seconds, $25,000.

Barrel Racing: 1. Sarah Rose McDonald, Brunswick, Ga., 14.470 seconds, $100,000; 2. Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 14.648, $25,000.

Bull Riding: 1. Joao Ricardo Vieira, Soa Paulo, Brazil, 81.75 points, $100,000; 2. Stetson Lawrence, Williston, N.D., no score, $25,000.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2019 Frankly and RFDTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service , and Ad Choices .