EPA Administrator Wheeler adds four members to Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities Committee


U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Andrew Wheeler has announced four new appointments to the Farm, Ranch and Rural Communities Committee on Wednesday.

The FRRCC is responsible for policy advice and information on a range of issues that impact rural communities and agriculture.

The new committee members come from Iowa, Nebraska and Kansas.

Bill Couser runs Couser Cattle Co. in Nevada, Iowa and Nicholas McCarthy is with the Central Valley Ag Cooperative in York, Nebraska.

The two Kansans are William R. Pracht, who runs Pracht Farms, and Jesse McCurry with the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission.

“One of my priorities for EPA has been to restore trust for our Agency among agricultural stakeholders and rural communities,” Wheeler said. “President Trump has been clear about the administration’s commitment to agriculture and rural America, and as part of that commitment, I am excited to reinstate the Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities Committee in 2020 with full membership. This committee will provide valuable input on how EPA’s decisions impact rural America, and I look forward to receiving the committee’s recommendations.”

The FRRCC has 33 members from relevant sectors across the nation.