House Ag Committee posed to pick new chair

We are one step closer to having new leadership in the House Agriculture Committee.

Georgia Democrat David Scott won the vote of a Democratic Steering Committee which voted overwhelmingly in favor of him over California Congressman Jim Costa.

Now the full house Democratic Caucus needs to affirm the vote before he officially takes the gavel. That’s expected to happen tomorrow.

Scott was elected in 2002 and has been a House Ag Committee member since that time.

He currently chairs the Commodity Exchanges, Energy, & Credit Subcommittee. He’ll replace Chairman Collin Peterson, who lost re-election last month.