Lasso Del Sol Results


Team Roping is the only team event in rodeo. It begins with a steer in a chute and ropers on horseback to either side. A run begins with the steer being released from the chute and given a head start down the arena, after which point the ropers may start their run without penalty. The first roper (the header), comes up on the steer’s left side and, throwing his loop, ropes the steer around the horns or neck. Next, the header wraps the rope around the saddle-horn (called dallying).

After making his dallies, the header then steers his horse to the left across the arena, pulling the steer behind him. It will now be the job of his partner (the heeler) to follow with the steer, approach from behind, and skillfully throw his loop so that it encircles both of the steer’s hind feet. The heeler will finish the run by stopping his horse while simultaneously dallying his rope around his saddle-horn.

All of the action in a team roping run usually occurs in a time span under 15 seconds (sometimes even less than five). And time is of the essence, as the team that performs their job the quickest wins the event.

Lasso Del Sol in Scottsdale, AZ on Dec. 16, 2016




1Travis WhitlowTanner Luttrell
2Tanner BaldwinLane Siggins
3Brett FlemingDerick Fleming
4Clayton VanAkenMatt Zancanella
5J.B. JamesBrock Hanson
6Trey BlackmoreBrock Hanson
7Kolton SchmidtLane Siggins
8Skeeter HillTyler Getzwiller
9Garrett RogersCesar A. DeLaCruz