Ohio Senate supports permanent daylight savings time


On Wednesday the Ohio Senate approved a resolution calling on Congress to permanently accept Daylight Savings Time.

The Buckeye State joins Georgia and Idaho in calling to end the twice-yearly time change in support of the Sunshine Protection Act of 2019. President Donald Trump has also expressed support of this idea.

Resolution sponsor, Sen. Kristina Roegner (R) Hudson, says the switch is a “government-induced biannual jetlag,” and the time changes in the fall and spring can lead to health issues, workplace injuries and car accidents as people struggle to adjust.

The resolution now goes to the Ohio House.