RAM National Circuit Finals Crowns Champions in Kissimmee, Florida

April 11, 2017

NASHVILLE, Tenn (RFD-TV) The Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo (RNCFR) in Kissimmee, Florida pits the 12 circuit season and finals average winners against one another in the seven traditional rodeo disciplines. In the 4-man sudden death format on Sunday, each champion was awarded a Polaris RANGER, a $20,000 RAM Truck voucher, a trophy saddle, a buckle, and some cash.

Starting with the bareback riding, R.C. Landingham, from the California circuit, took the RNCFR title after scoring 88.5 points on Korkow Rodeo’s “Onion Ring.” He earned almost $30,000 in Kissimmee, which was the most of any contestant there. That moved him up to 3rd spot in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) World Standings.

In the steer wrestling it was Texas Circuit cowboy Justin Shafer, who stopped the clock at 3.6 seconds in the finals to win nearly $12,000. He’s now ranked 10th in the PRCA World Standings.

In the team roping it was the duo of Jesse Stipes and Buddy Hawkins, who connected on 4.9 seconds in the final round. The Prairie Circuit cowboys pocketed over $17,000 each.

One year ago 2015 PRCA World Champion Saddle Bronc Rider Jacobs Crawley left Kissimmee as the Reserve Champion. This year, he won it with an 89.5 point ride on Stace Smith Pro Rodeo’s “Top Hat.” Crawley earned over $25,000, giving him a substantial lead in the PRCA World Standings. You can listen to what Crawley had to say about his history with “Top Hat” in the video below!

Veteran tie-down roper Matt Shiozawa won his fourth RNCFR Championship and over $15,000. Riding his bay mare that he calls “Alotta,” the Wilderness Circuit athlete stopped the clock in 7.3 seconds for the win.

When Prairie Circuit barrel racer Emily Miller left the RNCFR last year, she set a goal to win it. This year, she did just that on her gelding, “Pipewrench.” They stopped the clock in 15.27 seconds, which was one of the fastest runs of the rodeo, wearing her lucky shirt she’s had since high school. Miller won over $13,000 in Florida which moved her up to 16th in the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association (WPRA) World Standings.

Texas Circuit bull rider Tanner Learmont was the only rider to cover on Sunday, which earned him the championship title and nearly $20,000 for a single eight-second ride on Silver Spurs Club’s “Hang Em High” for 78 points.

The All-Around title went to Josh Peek, who competed in steer wrestling and tie-down roping. This is the third consecutive title for the cowboy, who represented the Mountain States Circuit.

Watch the video to see a full recap of the 2017 RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo!