Josh Abbott Band offers a poetic Serenade on new single “She’ll Always Be”

Upcoming LP Somewhere Down The Road out January 26th

SELECT_JoshAbbott_0554 1280.jpg

January 5, 2024: Today, the Josh Abbott Band shares new single “She’ll Always Be,” a sweetly poetic serenade to Abbott’s eternally free-spirited six-year-old daughter. The song is from the band’s seventh studio LP Somewhere Down The Road, due out on January 26, 2024 via their Pretty Damn Tough label. Over the next two days, the band will play a pair of shows at Fort Worth’s famed Billy Bob’s Texas club before heading out on the road for the Somewhere Down The Road tour next month. For a full list of dates, please see below or visit

Produced by Dwight A. Baker (who also produced 2015’s Front Row Seat) and recorded at his Matchbox Studios in Austin, Somewhere Down The Road is the Josh Abbott Band’s first full-length LP since 2020’s critically-acclaimed The Highway Kind. It also marks the first effort from the band’s newly reconfigured lineup, including longtime members Eddie Villanueva (drums), Austin Davis (banjo), David Fralin (keys) and Jimmy Hartman (bass) as well as recent additions Adam Hill (fiddle) and guitarists Cale Richardson and Kris Farrow. Sonically, thematically and lyrically, the album represents the very beginning of a new chapter for the band.

“For a long period of time I wanted to write hooky three-minute songs that would sound good on the radio, but now I’m writing from the heart more than I ever have,” shares Abbott about the album. “This record came from getting back to who I really am as a songwriter, and there was a lot of exorcizing some of the demons from my past.”

A staple in the Texas music scene since forming in 2006 at Lubbock’s Texas Tech University, the Josh Abbott Band has become an icon in the Lone Star State thanks to numerous successful singles and albums over the last decade plus. The group’s relentless on-stage attitude quickly made it a successful touring act, building out from a Texas band to a regional act to a national crew with a devoted following from coast to coast. Over the course of their career, the group has earned two top 10 debuts on the Billboard country albums chart, two RIAA Certified Gold singles, two top 40 hits including features with Kacey Musgraves and Carly Pearce and upwards of 235 million streams, fully affirming JAB as a formidable force in modern country music.

Somewhere Down The Road tracklist:

1. Astronaut (Intro) (Josh Abbott, Dwight A. Baker)

2. Astronaut (Erik Dylan, Randy Montana, Driver Williams)

3. The Sale (Josh Abbott)

4. What Were You Thinking (Josh Abbott)

5. Guilt of a Man (Josh Abbott)

6. She’ll Always Be (Josh Abbott, Neil Medley, Grant Gilbert)

7. Somewhere Down The Road (Josh Abott, Jon Randall)

8. Back To Normal (Josh Abbott)

9. Closer To You (Erik Dylan, Doug Waterman)

10. Unplug The Jug (Ryan Beaver, Neil Medley, Joe Clemmons)

11. Barstool Boys (Josh Abbott, Erik Dylan, Josh Kiser)

12. Brutus Judas And You (Josh Abbott, Erik Dylan, Brett Sheroky)

Listen to “She’ll Always Be”

Related Stories
In addition to their amazing show, RFD-TV’s “Where the Food Comes From” team also publishes a digital cookbook with recipes by people featured on the show.

Rural Lifestyle & Entertainment Shows
Dailey & Vincent are BACK ON RFD-TV for another great season, brought to you by Gus Arrendale & Springer Mountain Farms. Join them as they welcome scores of fabulous bluegrass, country, and gospel music acts as special guests!
Join popular polka performer Mollie Busta as she hosts the weekly “Mollie B Polka Party” on RFD-TV! The one-hour program features the nation’s top polka bands and a wide variety of ethnic styles produced on location at music festivals from around the country.
RFD-TV’s newest music series, “On the Record,” presented by John Deere, takes viewers on a journey through the heart of country music. Hosted by renowned broadcaster, Suzanne Alexander, the show features long-form interviews with today’s biggest artists and the veterans who inspired them. “On the Record” also gives viewers a front row seat to intimate performances and exclusive music video releases, highlighting the broad scope of Nashville’s talent.
Starring award-winning artist Perley Curtis, anyone who enjoys the classic sound of real Country music will love “Perley’s Place.” Filmed live at the iconic Nashville Palace, near Opryland in Nashville, TN, with a live audience, it’s one classic County hit after another.
“The Marty Stuart Show” is a must-see during RFD-TV’s Saturday Night Music Row. Each exciting episode features Mr. Stuart and his band “The Fabulous Superlatives.” Episodes also feature his wife — “Country Queen,” Ms. Connie Smith—who has helped make the show a celebrated success.