Meeker FFA of Oklahoma Named 2020 National FFA Model of Excellence

INDIANAPOLIS (Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2020/National FFA Organization) – Meeker FFA of Oklahoma has been named the 2020 National Model of Excellence winner during the 93rd National FFA Convention & Expo, held virtually this year.

The National Chapter Award program recognizes outstanding FFA chapters that actively implement the organization’s mission and strategies. These chapters improve chapter operations using the National Quality FFA Chapter Standards and a Program of Activities (POA) that emphasizes growing leaders, building communities, and strengthening agriculture. Chapters are rewarded for providing educational experiences for the entire membership.

Members of Meeker FFA started noticing things in their small community they wanted to improve, such as hunger, a lack of safety knowledge, communicating with others and physical health. The chapter designed their POA to offer fun and practical solutions to these challenges. The chapter’s Food Wars activity, a Penny Wars-like food drive, provided Thanksgiving baskets for the community. This competition increased local participation and netted more than 1,100 items to donate.

High school chapters that received three-star ratings during judging are eligible to compete for the Model of Excellence award, the highest honor awarded to a high school FFA chapter by the National FFA Organization. Ten FFA chapters competed in a virtual presentation for the top honor. Meeker FFA was recognized as the winner during the second general session held virtually on Tuesday, Oct. 27.

John Deere sponsors the National Chapter Award program. The 93rd National FFA Convention & Expo takes place virtually Oct. 27-29. View the general sessions live on RFD-TV, The Cowboy Channel and For more information, visit

The National FFA Organization is a school-based national youth leadership development organization of more than 760,000 student members as part of 8,700 local FFA chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Rural Lifestyle & Entertainment Shows
First introduced to RFD-TV on Larry’s Country Diner, The Malpass Brothers, modern day troubadours, bring you their very own, brand-new show to RFD-TV. Viewers can enjoy traditional country music from the brother duo of Chris & Taylor Malpass, a featured celebrity guest on each episode, and loads of clever humor.
Join popular polka performer Mollie Busta as she hosts the weekly “Mollie B Polka Party” on RFD-TV! The one-hour program features the nation’s top polka bands and a wide variety of ethnic styles produced on location at music festivals from around the country.
For more than 20 years on the air during its original run, HEE HAW did more than simply make people laugh; it made an unforgettable mark on country music and became an American Institution.
Ray’s Roadhouse is a weekly program featuring the music of Ray Benson and Asleep at the Wheel. Ray and his band Asleep at the Wheel has had a more than 50 year career in the music industry and over the years have earned nine Grammy Awards. The program also will feature guest performers such as Pat Green, Stoney LaRue and Kelly Willis.
Dailey & Vincent are BACK ON RFD-TV for another great season, brought to you by Gus Arrendale & Springer Mountain Farms. Join them as they welcome scores of fabulous bluegrass, country, and gospel music acts as special guests!