Country Music Awards Week


November 3, 2016

NASHVILLE, Tenn (RFD-TV) Country music has taken center stage this week in Nashville, TN to recognize the industry’s top writers, performers, and contributors of today’s leading smash hits. Awards Week kicked off on Sunday, Oct. 30 and wrapped up this evening at Bridgestone Arena for the 50th Annual CMA Awards.

The first red carpet rolled out at the 2016 SESAC Nashville Music Awards, which were held at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. Songwriters and publishers behind 2016’s most-performed country songs made for an outstanding roster of honorees.

Josh Hoge was named Songwriter of the Year for his chart topping hits, “I’m Comin’ Over” by Chris Young, “Think of You” by Chris Young and Cassadee Pope, along with singles from social media sensation, Kane Brown.

“Somewhere On A Beach,” written by Jaron Boyer and Michael Tyler and recorded by Dierks Bentley was named SESAC Song of the Year.

The awards dinner featured an evening of memorable musical performances, including Chris Young’s acoustic version of “I’m Comin’ Over,” Margo Price’s unforgettable “Desperate and Depressed” and performances by newcomers, Michael Tyler and Runaway June.

Guest presenters included Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, Billy Currington, Jim Lauderdale, Dustin Lynch, Cassadee Pope and Chris Young.

For a complete list of SESAC awards winners, click HERE.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (known as ASCAP) held the second night of star-studded celebration at the 2016 ASCAP Country Music Awards on at Ryman Auditorium in the heart of Downtown Nashville.

Brothers Osborne’s “Stay a Little Longer” was awarded with Song of the Year.

“It’s kinda cool, “ said John Osborne. “Honestly, we didn’t even know about this. But we’re kind of always the last ones to know about anything… but we got out of our Uber and they were like ‘Hear…put a medallion around your neck,’ then we were like, ‘That’s cool, what is that?’…Then they told us,” he laughs, “and we were like what…that’s cool!”

Looking down at their medals, John joked, “We’re telling everyone that we’re going out as Usain Bolt for Halloween. We forgot the rest of the costume, but…Usian Bolt, Michael Phelps…whatever ya wanna do.”

Bluegrass superstar Ricky Skaggs was presented with the esteemed ASCAP Founders Award. Skaggs, who appears frequently on RFD-TV’s “Larry’s Country Diner” and “Country Family Reunion,” was honored in song by Garth Brooks, Allison Krauss, Jamey Jonson, Peter Frampton, and Gordon Kennedy.

“I’m so grateful,” Skaggs said, with a crowd of country music’s monumental artists standing behind him. “I’ll spend the rest of my life thanking all these people for coming up and honoring me, and singing these songs for me…you did a great job,” he said, as the crowd stood in unison for a thrilling ovation.

Chris Stapleton was also among the top honorees of the night, as he was presented with the ASCAP Vanguard Award, which recognizes the impact of songwriters on genres that are shaping the future of music.

“I’ve heard things, and people, and on YouTube, that I had no business being on stage.” Referring to the fact that he was being honored alongside Skaggs, he shook his head in disbelief and said, “Some of the folks that they put me on stage with…Eastern Kentucky, baby!”

The crowd was treated to performances of ASCAP’s top 5 country music songs of the year: “I’m Comin’ Over” by songwriter Corey Crowder and Chris Young; “Save It for a Rainy Day” by songwriters Matthew Ramsey and Brad Tursi; “Gonna” by songwriter Craig Wiseman with Luke Laird; and “Nothin’ Like You” by Dan + Shay and songwriters Chris DeStefano and Ashley Gorley.

To see a full list of ASCAP award winners, click HERE.

Following a night the Ryman, Broadcast Music, Inc. presented its 2016 BMI Country Awards.

Country superstar Kenny Chesney was presented with BMI President’s Award, which is given to songwriters who have distinctly and profoundly influenced the entertainment industry. The honor puts Chesney in an elite list of songwriters across all genres including P!nk, Taylor Swift, Adam Levine, Willie Nelson, Brooks & Dunn and Gloria and Emilio Estefan.

He was honored with a tribute concert from fellow songwriters and musicians, Keith Urban, Eric Church and Dean Dillion.

“Die a Happy Man,” written by performer Thomas Rhett with BMI songwriter Sean Douglas and Joe London, won the coveted Song of the Year award. Rhett’s wife Lauren inspired the smash hit and was one of the most-performed songs of the year.

To see a full list of BMI award winners, click HERE.