Rural Money

RFD-TV News contributor Roger McOwen covers important topics in ag law and taxation, including FBAR, Read Before Signing, Reporting 4-H Income, and Attorney-Client Privilege.
The topics in ag law and tax are diverse. There’s never a dull moment. For now, here’s a selection of various ag law topics from RFD-TV Agricultural Law & Tax expert Roger McEowen.
Global food prices inched upward for the third consecutive month according to the latest FAO Food Price Index. While some Americans struggle to source their next meal, others are ordering high-priced food delivery straight to their door more than ever before.
From the U.S. Supreme Court down to local jurisdictions, the current developments just keep on rolling in agricultural law and taxation. Here are some recent developments.
Roger McEowen and Paul Neiffer, two of RFD-TV’s top agribusiness and tax experts are taking the show on the road with two summer seminars in the works.
One drawback of co-equal ownership in estate planning is the right of partition of a co-owner. That’s a particularly acute problem when parents have both on-farm and off-farm heirs.
The inflation rate seems to be dropping faster here in the United States than in Canada, but according to the chief economist with one of Canada’s largest banks, looks can be deceiving.
High input costs are standing in the way of farmers intending to shift to more sustainable practices, according to research by McKinsey and Company.
A family settlement agreement is one method to resolve financial conflicts among family members over assets—if executed properly, that is.
Mon, 4/1/24 – 8 PM ET | 7 PM CT | 6 AM MT | 5 AM PT
Thu, 4/4/24 – 10 PM ET | 9 PM CT | 8 PM MT | 7 PM PT
The U.S. agriculture industry is confronting a new economic reality as pandemic aid ends, pushing producers into debt as a form of financial relief from high input costs.
As large grocery chains face growing Federal Trade Commission (FTC) scrutiny, consumers consider farmers least culpable for over-inflated food prices, according to a new survey.
As farmland real estate values make a notable downward shift, industry experts discuss the underlying causes and potential implications of this cooling trend.
What is “gross income from farming” for purposes of Chapter 12 (farm) bankruptcy – that is the topic of today’s Firm to Farm blog post by Roger McEowen.
In today’s Firm to Farm blog post, Roger McOwen breaks down the Court’s regulations on unconstitutional federal power and the ruling’s impact on BOI reporting.
The topic of this Firm to Farm blog post by RFD-TV agri-legal expert Roger McEowen is a potpourri of legal issues facing farmers and ranchers—farm bankruptcy, sovereign immunity, farm leases, and pipeline damages.